By Herald Staff

The 8th District Republican Congressional Committee held its reorganization caucus on Saturday, March 13, at the Toyota Events Center in Princeton. This was part of the process for organizing the State Republican Party, which started with the election of Precinct Committeemen at the June 2020 Primary Election. Those Precinct Committeemen appointed a person of the opposite sex to serve as Vice-Committeemen. That group of people constitute the Republican Committee for their county.

On March 6, 2021, the county Republican committees in each of Indiana’s 92 counties met to elect officers for the 2021-2025 term. The county committees elected a chairman, vice-chairman, secretary and treasurer.

The 8th Congressional District has 18 counties and half of Crawford County (the other half is in the 9th District).

The Chairs and Vice-Chairs of the 8th Congressional District met on March 13 to elect a Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer to serve until Congressional redistricting is completed later this year. All four current officers were reelected unanimously. The Chairman is Don Hayes from Dubois County; the Vice-Chairman is Brenda Goff from Posey County; the Secretary is Mike Myers from Daviess County; and the Treasurer is Linda Painter of Knox County.

The chairman and vice-chairman of the nine Congressional district committees will meet on March 24 to elect state officers. At that caucus, a State Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer will be elected by the state committee.