JMS student writers

Pictured from left are: Max Bueltel, Payton Campbell, Bernadine Dure, Olivia Helming, Ellie Leonard, Holly Pardo, Molly Kramer, and Myah Troutman. Not pictured is Landrey Fegan.

JASPER — A group of Jasper Middle School students were recently chosen as winners in a state-wide writing contest, ‘Letters about Literature,’ sponsored by the James and Madeleine McMullan Family Foundation.

Students are challenged to write a letter to an author of a book that somehow changed the way they see the world. Selected as publication winners were Max Bueltel, Payton Campbell, Landrey Fegan, Olivia Helming, Molly Kramer, Ellie Leonard, and Myah Troutman. Recognized as honorable mention and publication winners were Holly Pardo and Bernadine Dure.

All of the winners were invited to a virtual awards ceremony featuring notable Indiana author Margaret Peterson Haddix. Additionally, they were included in an in-person writing workshop featuring author Saundra Mitchell, held at the Indiana State Library in Indianapolis. Place winners were awarded money, while all attendees were given certificates and swag bags of books by notable Indiana authors.